December 2015 marked the tenth year of Francisco Salazar’s tenure as President Commissioner of CRE. Salazar completed his second five-year term in the regulatory organ, therefore he had to leave the position. CRE was left without a President Commissioner in January 1, 2016, which created quite some uncertainty and turmoil in the energy industry. For months, rumors pervaded regarding possible replacements and there was a lot of speculation on who was heading the regulator until a new president was assigned.

Alcocer It turns out some of the rumors had some accuracy to them, and CRE now has a newly appointed President Commissioner: Guillermo García Alcocer. The name is a familiar one to people following the oil and gas industry, as he previously served as Chief of the Unit of Production Policies at the Ministry of Energy. García Alcocer formed part of the technical team that provided research and support for the 2008 Energy Reform, and headed the work team that drafted the hydrocarbons section of the 2013 Energy Reform. In 2014, the Senate nominated him as a candidate for the position of President Commissioner at CNH for the 2014-2019 period. His experience in the hydrocarbons industry includes areas such as technical and economic regulations, public policy design, and business development and assessment. García Alcocer was appointed President Commissioner of CRE by the Senate on April 28, 2016. He will hold the post for a seven-year period, with the possibility of a second tenure as long as this does not exceed 14 years.

Those who are familiar with the way CRE’s organigram behaved over the past year probably noticed another empty spot in additional to the President Commissioner. Guillermo Pineda Bernal was also appointed as Commissioner. His previous experience includes positions at PEMEX and the Ministry of Finance. Now CRE has all the Commissioner positions filled, which should help boost the development of the energy industry, particularly amidst the opening of the wholesale electricity market.

As of May 2016, CRE’s Government Organ consists of:

Guillermo García Alcocer, President Commissioner

Marcelino Madrigal Martínez, Commissioner

Montserrat Ramiro Ximénez, Commissioner

Noé Navarrete, Commissioner

Jesús Serrano, Commissioner

Luis Guillermo Pineda Bernal, Commissioner

Guillermo Zúñiga Martínez, Commissioner

Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Looking for something?

Use the form below to search the site:

Still not finding what you're looking for? Drop a comment on a post or contact us so we can take care of it!

Visit our friends!

A few highly recommended friends...

Set your Twitter account name in your settings to use the TwitterBar Section.